05/20/2016 18:29:48

MIPT team wins gold at ACM ICPC final

Two Russian teams take the top places at the International Collegiate Programming Contest in Phuket, Thailand. 

Today concluded the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) that took place from May 15-20 in Phuket, Thailand. A total of two teams representing Russian universities took the lead: Saint Petersburg University (SPbU) won first place, becoming the world champion, while Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT) secured their gold with the fourth place. Another three Russian universities took medals home: ITMO University and Ural Federal University won silver and Lobachevsky University won bronze. A total of 128 teams from the world’s top-ranked universities got through to the final round. 

Russian programmers are traditionally at the top of this competition. Last year’s champion’s title, for instance, went to ITMO University, followed by gold-winning Moscow State University (MSU). The last time MIPT took gold home was in Warsaw in 2012. 

 “We at MIPT started our active participation in programming contests around 2011, along with the launch of study courses in Computer Science. Since then we steadily show top results at ACM ICPC, where making it to the final 100 among the strongest universities in IT is a huge accomplishment for many,” says Alexey Maleev, Head of the IT Education Development Center at MIPT. “It’s our second medal, and it’s gold again for us. It’s also worth mentioning that 8 out of 12 runners-up participated in Moscow ACM ICPC Workshops - competitive programming workshops that take place at MIPT twice a year.”

The competition consists of several elimination rounds taking place in different parts of the world, for instance, the Moscow-based quarterfinals, where MIPT’s “MIPT-Ababahalamaha” was the only team to solve all 12 tasks and took their first victory with flying colours. This year’s elimination rounds saw over 2,700 universities take part. 
According to MIPT’s rector Nikolay Kudryavtsev, MIPT is traditionally renowned for its education in IT. “Future IT-specialists are trained at three Phystech departments: Radio Engineering and Cybernetics, Applied Mathematics and Management, and Innovation and High Technology. Among our notable IT-alumni are ABBYY founder David Yang, entrepreneur, Acronis founder and CEO Serguei Beloussov, RocketBank CEO Victor Lysenko and many other names that speak for themselves.”

Being one of the world’s major student programming championships, ACM ICPC attracted over 300,000 students from 6 continents this year. The contest dates back to the competition held at The University of Texas in the 1970s. Today it is annually held under the auspices of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Since 1997 the contest has been supported by IBM, with Apple, AT&T, and Microsoft among previous general sponsors. 

Every team consists of three students. The contest only admits students of higher education and first-year postgraduates. Students that qualified for the final twice, or took part in regional elimination rounds five times, are not permitted. The contestant age limit is 24 years old. 

During each contest round every team receives 8 to 12 tasks in English, and computer access for 5 hours. The teams’ solutions in C, C++ or Java are then sent to a remote testing server.

The next contest will take place in Rapid City, South Dakota, USA in 2017.  

If you have noticed a mistake on this page, select it and press Ctrl + Enter

Related posts

MIPT team places 1st again in national theoretical mechanics contest

MIPT student is absolute winner at 12th International Olympiad on Astronomy and Astrophysics
MIPT professors listed among Russia’s most highly cited researchers
MIPT is leader in natural science education in Russia according to THE ranking